Manage, move, and duplicate Boards

6 min read

In this article

Who can use this feature?
Depends on Board Permissions
Available on all plans

Once you’ve created a Board, you can edit and customize it to your exact specifications, adjusting parameters and settings to align it perfectly with your needs. Moreover, you can move the Board to another Space or duplicate it.

Manage your Board #

Once you have created a Board, you can manage it however it fits your preferences. You can change the Board’s name, description, permissions, and much more. Let’s look at these in more detail.

Rename a Board #

Here’s how you can rename a Board:

  1. Click on the Board name when you open a Board
  2. Enter new name
  3. Press Enter/return or click outside the name box
  1. Tap on the three dots in the top right corner of a Board
  2. Tap on Board info
  3. Enter the new name in the Name field
  1. Tap on the three dots in the top right corner
  2. Tap on Rename board
  3. Enter new Board name
  4. Tap on Rename to complete the action

Copy Board URL #

  1. Click on the three dots in the top right corner
  2. Click on Copy board URL
  1. Tap on the three dots in the top right corner
  2. Tap on Share
  3. Select Copy at the bottom of your screen
  1. Tap on the three dots in the top right corner
  2. Tap on Copy board URL

Change Board type #

Info

Private Boards are available only on paid plans.

In Plaky, you can have both Private and Public Boards. Public Boards can be accessed by any user who can access the Space where the Board is located, while Private Boards are accessible only to Board members.

Here’s how you can switch between Board types:

  1. Click on the three dots in the top right corner
  2. Click on Change board type
  3. Select Private or Public
  4. Click Save to complete the action
  1. Tap on the three dots in the top right corner
  2. Select Board info
  3. Tap on Type
  4. Choose Public or Private
  1.  Tap on the three dots in the top right corner
  2. Select Change board type
  3. Choose Private or Public
  4. Tap on Save to complete the action

Set Board description #

The Board description describes the Board to users and lets them know what it is about. To change the Board description:

  1. Click on the Board info icon
  2. Write the Board description
  3. Click on Save to complete the action
  1. Tap on the three dots in the top right corner
  2. Select Board info
  3. Tap on Description
  4. Write the description
  1. Tap on the three dots in the top right corner
  2. Tap on Board info
  3. Write Board description
  4. Tap on Save to complete the action

Mark Board as favorite #

To access a Board more easily from the sidebar, you can mark it as a favorite. To do this, simply click on the star button when you open a Board. To remove a Board from favorites, click on the star button again.

Add Board Views #

Board Views let you visualize information on a Board in different ways. To add a Board View, follow these steps:

  1. Click on the + button 
  2. Select Board View (Table, Kanban, Gantt, Chart)
  1. Tap on Board view configuration in the top right corner
  2. Select Views
  3. Tap on + New view in the bottom left corner
  4. Write View title 
  5. Toggle if you want the View to be private or public
  6. Choose View type 
  7. Tap on ✔️ to complete the process
  1. Tap on the three dots in the top right corner
  2. Tap on + Add view
  3. Enter View name
  4. Select View type 
  5. Tick the box if you want the View to be private
  6. Tap on Create to complete the action

Sort the Board  #

You can sort each Field by certain criteria. This can help you better organize your Board and provide a clearer overview of all the Items on it.

  1. Click the Sort button at the top of the Board
  2. With + Add new sort add the criteria by which you’d like to sort
  3. Pick the criteria from the dropdown you get when you click on the criteria label
  4. Choose Ascending/Descending order
  5. Click Save in this view to complete the process

Manage Field visibility #

This feature allows you to effortlessly control the visibility of Fields on your board, tailoring your Board to focus on the most relevant information.

  1. Click on the Fields visibility icon
  2. Select the Fields to display
  3. Click on the pin/unpin icon to pin/unpin them
  4. Drag and drop the Fields to reorder them
  5. Click outside the designated area to complete the action
  1. Tap on Board view configuration in the top right corner
  2. Tap on Show/hide fields
  3. Select the field you want to show
  4. Tap on ✔️ to complete the process
  1. Tap on the three dots
  2. Tap on Field visibility
  3. Select fields
  4. Tap on Save to complete the action

Move Board #

A Board can be moved to a different Folder or a different Space. Both work through the same steps, which are:

  1. Navigate to the Board you’d like to move
  2. Click the three dots to open the menu
  3. Hover over Move to
  4. Select Move to space or Move to folder
  5. Enter the destination name in the search box

Duplicate Board #

There are three ways in which Boards can be duplicated:

  • Structure only (bare bone structure of the Board)
  • Structure and items (structure, Fields, and Items)
  • Structure, items, and updates (structure, Fields, Items, added comments, files, and any other updates that have been made)

Here’s how you can duplicate a Board:

  1. Navigate to the Board you want to duplicate
  2. Click the three dots to open the menu
  3. Choose Duplicate
  4. Enter new Board title
  5. Select what you want to duplicate
  6. Check if you want to keep Board subscribers
  7. Click Duplicate board to complete the auction

The duplicated Board will appear in the left sidebar.

Delete Board #

To delete a Board:

  1. Navigate to the Board name on the left
  2. Click the three dots to open the menu
  3. Choose Delete board
  4. Confirm the action
  1. Tap on the three dots in the top right corner
  2. Tap on Delete board
  3. Confirm the action
  1. Tap on the three dots in the top right corner
  2. Tap on Delete board
  3. Confirm the action

Deleted Boards are moved to Trash, where they can be restored for up to 30 days. After that, the Board and all its content are permanently deleted. 

Was this article helpful?

Thank you! If you’d like a member of our support team to respond to you, please drop us a note at support@plaky.com