User Roles, Ownership, and Permissions overview

4 min de lectura

In this article

¿Quién puede utilizar esta función?
Propiedad, administrador
Disponible en todos los planes

Users in Plaky can have different roles and permissions, which determine what they can do in the Workspace.

How User Roles and Permissions work #

Plaky uses User Roles, Ownership, and Permissions to manage what users can do in the Workspace. Understanding both will let you know how Workspace access is managed. 

  • User Types — assigned to a user when they join a Workspace. Determines what they can see and do across all Spaces, Boards, and Items. Applies everywhere until overridden by an Ownership role or Board permission.
  • Board Permissions — restrict what Members and Admins can do on a specific Board. Depending on Permissions, they can have full editing access or only post comments and files.
  • Ownership — granted on a specific Space, Board, or Item. An Owner can do this on an entity that their Workspace role alone wouldn’t allow (e.g., deleting a Space, configuring Board permissions, granting Ownership). Members can own Boards without being a Workspace Admin.

User Types #

There are 3 different User Types in Plaky:

  • Administrador  
  • Miembro 
  • Lector 

Administrador #

Admin is a user who was promoted to the Admin role by another Admin or Owner. Admins have all permissions available in a single account, except for deleting a Workspace. They can modify and configure Space and Boards. Moreover, Admins can control access permissions for other users and assign Ownership of an entity to a Member or another Admin.

Miembro #

Member is the default role for all new Workspace users. Members have the permissions to do the following:

  • Create/edit Boards
  • Create/edit Items
  • Create/edit Folders
  • Invite users (depending on Permissions)
  • Edit profile settings
  • Add comments and files

Lector #

Viewers are users who can read all content available in the Space they’re invited to, but cannot modify any configuration or have any editing permissions.

Viewers are available on Pro and Enterprise plans, where you can add 5 viewers for free per paid user seat. Check out this article for more information.

Información

Admins can change other Users’ (except Admins) User type/role.

Propiedad #

Ownership in Plaky grants users distinct permissions, enabling them to perform a wide range of actions and tasks within the Space/Board/Item, regardless of their User Type.

Different User Types can have the following functions:

  • Propietario del espacio
  • Propietario del tablero
  • Propietario del elemento
  • Miembro del espacio/tablero

Propietario del espacio #

Space Owner is a User (Admin or Member) who created the Space, or was granted Ownership and permissions by another Owner of that Space. Granting Ownership is an action by which the Owner of Space, Board, or Item assigns another user as Owner of that entity (they can also remove themself as Owner then if needed).

Board Owner  #

Board Owners are either Users who created a Board, or to whom the ownership was granted by another Owner of that Board. 

A Board Owner can be either an Admin or a Member, and they can add, edit, configure, delete, and make all other modifications to the Board, Item Group, or any other entity available on that Plaky Board. 

The mentioned permissions are determined by ownership, not by the User type/Role.

Permissions overview #

Below is a table with an overview of permissions based on the User Type:

Basic permissionsAdministradorMiembroLector
ver espacio abierto✔️✔️✔️
ver espacio cerrado✔️ *if space member✔️ *if space member✔️ *if space member
acceso al menú de usuario✔️✔️✔️
desactivar usuario/cambiar rol/correo electrónico✔️XX
invitar a un nuevo miembro✔️✔️ * depending on PermissionX
edit other member’s profileXXX
eliminar el espacio de trabajo✓*si es propietario del espacioXX
Manage teamsAdministradorMiembroLector
ver equipo y sus miembros✔️✔️✔️
crear equipo✔️✔️ * depending on PermissionX
añadir/eliminar miembros✔️✔️ *depending on PermissionX
eliminar/renombrar equipo✔️XX
Manage spaceAdministradorMiembroLector
crear espacio✔️✔️X
renombrar espacio/ cambiar descripción/ícono✔️ *if space owner✔️ *if space ownerX
unirse al espacio abierto✔️✔️✔️* if invited
crear tablero/filtro✔️✔️X
añadir/eliminar suscriptores y promoción de propietarios✔️ *if space owner✔️ *if space ownerX
eliminar espacio abierto✔️✔️ *if space ownerX
eliminar espacio cerrado✔️ *if space member✔️ *if space ownerX
Manage boardAdministradorMiembroLector
ver tablero público✔️✔️✔️
ver tablero privado✔️ *if board member✔️ *if board member✔️ *if board member

¿Te resultó útil este artículo?

Thank you! If you’d like a member of our support team to respond to you, please drop us a note at support@plaky.com