User Roles, Ownership, and Permissions overview
Users in Plaky can have different roles and permissions, which determine what they can do in the Workspace.
How User Roles and Permissions work #
Plaky uses User Roles, Ownership, and Permissions to manage what users can do in the Workspace. Understanding both will let you know how Workspace access is managed.
- User Types — assigned to a user when they join a Workspace. Determines what they can see and do across all Spaces, Boards, and Items. Applies everywhere until overridden by an Ownership role or Board permission.
- Board Permissions — restrict what Members and Admins can do on a specific Board. Depending on Permissions, they can have full editing access or only post comments and files.
- Ownership — granted on a specific Space, Board, or Item. An Owner can do this on an entity that their Workspace role alone wouldn’t allow (e.g., deleting a Space, configuring Board permissions, granting Ownership). Members can own Boards without being a Workspace Admin.
User Types #
There are 3 different User Types in Plaky:
- Admin
- Membre
- Visionneur
Administrateur #
Admin is a user who was promoted to the Admin role by another Admin or Owner. Admins have all permissions available in a single account, except for deleting a Workspace. They can modify and configure Space and Boards. Moreover, Admins can control access permissions for other users and assign Ownership of an entity to a Member or another Admin.
Membre #
Member is the default role for all new Workspace users. Members have the permissions to do the following:
- Create/edit Boards
- Create/edit Items
- Create/edit Folders
- Invite users (depending on Permissions)
- Edit profile settings
- Add comments and files
Visionneur #
Viewers are users who can read all content available in the Space they’re invited to, but cannot modify any configuration or have any editing permissions.
Viewers are available on Pro and Enterprise plans, where you can add 5 viewers for free per paid user seat. Check out this article for more information.
Admins can change other Users’ (except Admins) User type/role.
Propriété #
Ownership in Plaky grants users distinct permissions, enabling them to perform a wide range of actions and tasks within the Space/Board/Item, regardless of their User Type.
Different User Types can have the following functions:
- Propriétaire de l'espace
- Propriétaire du tableau
- Propriétaire de l'élément
- Espace/membre du tableau
Propriétaire de l'espace #
Space Owner is a User (Admin or Member) who created the Space, or was granted Ownership and permissions by another Owner of that Space. Granting Ownership is an action by which the Owner of Space, Board, or Item assigns another user as Owner of that entity (they can also remove themself as Owner then if needed).
Board Owner #
Board Owners are either Users who created a Board, or to whom the ownership was granted by another Owner of that Board.
A Board Owner can be either an Admin or a Member, and they can add, edit, configure, delete, and make all other modifications to the Board, Item Group, or any other entity available on that Plaky Board.
The mentioned permissions are determined by ownership, not by the User type/Role.
Permissions overview #
Below is a table with an overview of permissions based on the User Type:
| Basic permissions | Admin | Membre | Visionneur |
|---|---|---|---|
| visualiser l'espace ouvert | ✔️ | ✔️ | ✔️ |
| visualiser l'espace fermé | ✔️ *if space member | ✔️ *if space member | ✔️ *if space member |
| accès au menu utilisateur | ✔️ | ✔️ | ✔️ |
| désactiver l'utilisateur/changer le rôle/l’emai | ✔️ | X | X |
| inviter un nouveau membre | ✔️ | ✔️ * depending on Permission | X |
| edit other member’s profile | X | X | X |
| supprimer un espace de travail | ✔️* si propriétaire de l’espace | X | X |
| Manage teams | Admin | Membre | Visionneur |
|---|---|---|---|
| visualiser l'équipe et les membres de l'équipe | ✔️ | ✔️ | ✔️ |
| créer une équipe | ✔️ | ✔️ * depending on Permission | X |
| ajouter/supprimer un membre de l'équipe | ✔️ | ✔️ *depending on Permission | X |
| supprimer/renommer une équipe | ✔️ | X | X |
| Manage space | Admin | Membre | Visionneur |
|---|---|---|---|
| créer un espace | ✔️ | ✔️ | X |
| renommer l'espace/changer la description/l'icône | ✔️ *if space owner | ✔️ *if space owner | X |
| joindre l'espace ouvert | ✔️ | ✔️ | ✔️* if invited |
| créer un tableau/dossier | ✔️ | ✔️ | X |
| ajouter/supprimer les abonnés et promotion du propriétaire | ✔️ *if space owner | ✔️ *if space owner | X |
| supprimer l'espace ouvert | ✔️ | ✔️ *if space owner | X |
| supprimer l'espace fermé | ✔️ *if space member | ✔️ *if space owner | X |
| Manage board | Admin | Membre | Visionneur |
|---|---|---|---|
| visualiser le tableau public | ✔️ | ✔️ | ✔️ |
| visualiser le tableau privé | ✔️ *if board member | ✔️ *if board member | ✔️ *if board member |